getting started

Greetings.

I’ve been thinking about starting an outdoors oriented blog for awhile now. Something along the lines of… “easy way outside.” How to get outdoors with minimal cost, worry, research, etc.

I tend to overthink things, to super-shop the many options of any purchase. I sometimes spend more time fawning over outdoors things than actually getting outdoors. While I’ve had some years when I slept outdoors more days than indoors, I’ve also had some years when I went to REI more than I went hiking.

While outdoors equipment is useful, I think there’s a sort of mental trap where the magazine and catalogue narrative starts to interfere with my actual experiences. 

The thinking is like this:

If I had x, then I’d be living a more active/happy/connected life.

Where x =

  • new bike(s) (disc breaks, gravel, fat bike, etc)
  • electronics: GPS, heart rate, cycle computer, swim watch
  • newer, lighter backpacking things
  • JACKETS!!!
  • Bags.
  • etc

My hope is to find a balance.

How do I keep my connection with the outdoors and nature vital even as I live a suburban, family, job, and house anchored life?  

I’m not a skier or snowboarder, rock climber or mountaineer, organic farmer or rancher… I’ve even shied away from mountain or road biking. So how do I relate to the outdoors?

Well, for the most part, the easy way.

Walking in open spaces and interesting neighborhoods.

Hiking the rural periphery of the city.

Casual bike rides on the path system.

That’s what I’m already doing. I suppose I want to go a step further. To recapture the best parts of my outdoor experiences from the past– backpacking, river trips, some mountain climbing, desert exploration, mountain town living. And most importantly, sharing the sense of connection and community that comes from having these adventures, and sharing those outdoor meals, with others.

What does that look like for adults unable to spend the entire summer, or year, working outdoors?

  • To get better at planning, and take on some major yearly adventures– even just camping nearby.
  • To anchor year round activities with planning and conditioning, so even winter feels meaningfully linked to summer adventures.
  • To build community around the outdoors– to find others to explore and adventure with.
  • To find new ways to relate to outdoor spaces. If I only see ski resorts and mountain biking trails on the map, I’ll never see a spot for myself, or understand exactly how to relate and engage. What about looking to the empty spaces on the map, and developing a more holistic view of them: ecology, geology, human history, land management, et cetera?
  • And of course, share what I already know, and what I’m learning, with others.

Okay. Sounds easy enough! So let’s get started.

Leave a Reply

